Border

France/ UK, 2004
27 min. Beta numerique PAL, Couleur, Stereo

Production, Réalisation, Scénario, Image, Montage Laura Waddington
Co-Production Love Streams Agnes b. Paris
Musique Simon Fisher Turner
Voix Laura Waddington

Premiere

Le 57ème Festival International du Film de Locarno, Suisse, août 2004

Synopsis

En 2002, Laura Waddington a passé plusieurs mois dans les champs autour du camp de la Croix Rouge à Sangatte avec des réfugiés afghans et iraqiens qui essayaient de traverser le tunnel sous la Manche pour rejoindre l’Angleterre. Filmé entièrement de nuit avec une petite caméra vidéo, Border est un témoignage personnel sur le sort des réfugiés et la violence policière qui a suivi la fermeture du camp.

Director’s statement

Pendant les journées, si vous vous baladiez le long des autoroutes et des terrains vagues, vous pouviez voir des réfugiés partout: attendant au bord de la route ou se dirigeant vers le port et les trains de marchandises. Ils se déplaçaient en groupe de deux ou trois, parfois de vingt ou trente.
La nuit venue, je marchais à leurs côtés le long des routes. Il fallait deux ou trois heures pour rejoindre le grillage du tunnel sous la Manche où ils commençaient à couper les haies métalliques. Puis, venaient les arrestations, le bus de la police les ramenait au camp. Ils réapparaissaient quelques heures plus tard et le jeu pervers du chat et de la souris reprenait.
La plupart des réfugiés venaient d’Irak et d’Afghanistan et il leur avait fallu six ou sept mois pour atteindre la France. Ils avaient payé des passeurs pour les faire traverser clandestinement l’Iran, la Turquie et les Balkans dans des camions. Beaucoup  parmi eux n’avaient rien d’autre à part leurs habits. Dans leurs pays, ils avaient été enseignants, professeurs, étudiants en médecine et maçons.
Certains hommes sont morts dans le tunnel, d’autres ont perdu un bras ou une jambe, coupés par un train en marche. Je me souviens d’un garçon qui avait perdu une jambe. La même semaine qu’il était sorti d’hôpital, il était sur la route, cherchant à nouveau à s’enfuir. Les mois se sont écoulés dans une sorte de limbe. Je ne pouvais pas croire qu’on les avait abandonnés là-bas, comme si nous leur avions tourné le dos.

Laura Waddington 2002

Retour sur la réalisation de “Border”*

Where the only illumination was that of distant car headlights, far off street lamps and police torches, I constantly brushed up against the limits of what my small video camera could capture. Fragile and at breaking point, the images which emerged, were on the verge of disappearance (…)

Later, I had the impression that my camera had conspired with Sangatte. In struggling with its own technical constraints, it had gotten to the essence of the refugees’ invisible and precarious condition far more effectively than I, with my learnt notions of how to film, could have managed without the accidents of materials and chance.

passage correspondant dans “Scattered Truth”


Extraits de presse

«Mais le choc du festival (de Locarno) c’est le cinéma de Laura Waddington. 34 ans, anglaise, elle a vécu illégalement à New York puis passé quelques années à voyager en compagnie des exilés du monde, dans les endroits les plus risqués. Ayant la phobie des avions, elle a fait ces trajets en bus, en stop, en cargo. Mais à part des avions, Laura Waddington n’a peur de rien, et sa caméra numérique porte tout son courage autant que sa conscience. En bandoulière. Border est la trace de ces mois où elle resta à Sangatte, dans les bois, chaque nuit, en planque avec les réfugiés irakiens et afghans. Captées clandestinement, l’obturateur grand ouvert, presque au ralenti, ces images livrent une expérience esthétique de la peur, de la traque, comme tombées d’un cauchemar peuplé de figures floues. Border enchaîne les bois de Sangatte à cette part d’imaginaire terrorisée tapie profondément en chacun de nous.”»
lire article
Philippe Azoury, LIBERATION, Paris

«À mille lieux des reportages tentant vainement de rendre une hypothétique identité à ces corps déplaces, la caméra aux abois de Laura Waddington évite scrupuleusement les visages pour rendre compte d’une condition animale, d’un statut de bête traquée. Nulle prédation pourtant, ni surplomb sociétal, mais une réelle empathie dans ce filmage inquiet et téméraire. Et si l’image est superbe, emmenant parfois Border aux confins de la video-danse au point de faire tiquer certains gardiens du temple éthique, cela répond avant tout a une nécessité technique; obturateur de la DV grand ouvert pour compenser l’absence de lumière, d’où gros grain vibratile, impression de ralenti, mouvements comme autant d’empreintes»
Bertrand Loutte, LES INROCKUPTIBLES, Paris

«Subtile et puissante, l’œuvre de cette réalisatrice anglaise, observatrice nomade du monde et traductrice dévouée de peur et d’espoir, comme dans le film Border (Compétition Internationale/ Mention Spéciale) une documentaire tragique sur les vaines tentatives des réfugiés afghans et irakiens d’échapper de la France jusqu’en Angleterre et la violente répression policière qui a suivi la fermeture du camp de Sangatte.»
Elena Marcheschi IL MANIFESTO, Italy

«Border témoigne de la réalité des ombres, d’un groupe de personnes invisibles a cote du chemin et c’est la métaphore politique et artistique le plus éloquente jamais exprimée»
MAR DEL PLATA FILM FESTIVAL CATALOGUE, Buenos Aires, Argentina

«Juxtaposé avec des images éloquentes qui suggèrent beaucoup plus que ce qu’elles montrent réellement. Le résultat est simplement étonnant: un travail expressionniste avec un design visuel et sonore qui expose merveilleusement, d’une manière réflexive, la douleur et la souffrance des autres comme si elles étaient les vôtres.»
Pablo Suárez BUENOS AIRES HERALD, Argentina

«C’était en 2002: l’illégalité de la situation, la police à l’affût, les courses à travers champs, l’omniprésence de la nuit seulement  éblouie par le danger des projecteurs d’hélicoptères, tout cela donne aux images de son film leur condition d’invisibilité, mais aussi, plus puissamment, de proximité avec ces hommes, ces femmes et ces enfants dont on ne voit presque jamais les traits – dont on entend à un moment, les clameurs désesperées face à la police -, mais dont le film réussit à construire, admirablement, comme un poème, la dignité
lire extrait du livre
Georges Didi-Huberman, DICTIONNAIRE MONDIAL DES IMAGES, Paris

«C’est sa seule vidéo qui est essentiellement tournée à l’extérieur avec des réfugiés, des silhouettes dans l’obscurité, se mouvant dans le vent et la pluie, traversant des paysages anonymes à nos yeux, bien que connus de la narratrice… Il y a une compassion héroïque d’une dimension quasi-Kurosawien en chaque image, une justesse de chaque mouvement qui dans son humilité parle glorieusement de toute la croissance et l’apprentissage accomplis durant toutes ces années de cheminement.»
lire article
Olaf Möller , THE DAYS AND YEARS OF MY TRAVELS, The 51st Pesaro Film Fest Catalogue 2005

“Il y a peu de choses aussi importantes dans le cinéma d’aujourd’hui que les efforts de cinéastes courageux comme Waddington. Dans l’esprit de Hanoun, Ivens, Adachi et d’autres, Waddington a prêté sa présence physique à la cause, passant des mois autour du camp de la Croix-Rouge de Sangatte…L’ambiance singulière des images de Laura Waddington est difficile à oublier…Puisse la poésie de l’image en mouvement nous sauver de ce monde.”
lire article
José Sarmiento Hinojosa, #Crucial21DbW:Border, Crucial 21st Century Cinema #DirectedbyWomen

“dans ces images rallongées, il y a la volonté courageuse de Laura Waddington d’explorer les zones d’ombre de la contemporanéité, les territoires occupés par des peuples invisibles qui se traînent dans la bulle de la globalisation.”
lire article
Stefania Rimini, IMMAGINAZIONI: RISCRITTURE E IBRIDAZIONI FRA TEATRO E CINEMA, Bonanno Editore, Gruppo Editoriale s.r.l. Roma

“L’immédiateté de la lutte : René Vautier a appelé ce cinéma d’immédiateté performative un cinéma d’intervention sociale, qui a comme but la réussite d’une lutte et la transformation concrète d’une situation de conflit ou d’injustice. Ce cinéma in situ, porté aujourd’hui […] par Laura Waddington quand elle suit les immigrants dans Border ou par Jean-Luc Godard dans Prière pour refusniks.”
Nicole Brenez, POLITICAL CINEMA TODAY-THE NEW EXIGENCIES: FOR A REPUBLIC OF IMAGES, Screening the Past 9, 2013

“Il y a quelque chose de tragiquement beau dans les images de Laura Waddington qui me rappelle la phrase que Grandrieux et Brenez ont ont utilisé pour leur série sur les cinéastes impliqués dans la résistance politique : “Il se peut que la beauté ait renforcé notre détermination”. Ces images servent, non à calmer notre culpabilité aliénante, propre à notre distance émotionnelle et physique face à l’étranger, mais à déclencher une empathie, une résurrection de la mémoire, une fièvre d’humanité et un renforcement de la flamme intérieure.”
lire article
José Sarmiento Hinojosa DESIST FILM, Online Film Journal, Peru, 2019

“Les images de Border, empreintes de pathos, tremblantes et faisant trembler les spectateurs, cherchent… une nouvelle forme de communauté basée sur le partage d’un espace commun et d’un regard qui pourrait prendre en compte le regard de l’autre. “Ces images inspirées d’exaltation audiovisuelle”, comme dirait Sergueï Eisenstein, émergent…d’un lieu où la politique est née, même si elle n’est pas appelée politique et si elle n’a pas de représentants.”
lire article
Paweł Mościcki, THE IMAGE AS COMMON GOOD: ON LAURA WADDINGTON’S BORDER, Widok, Poland, 2016

“Un appel radical à l’hétérogénéité, à la diversité, l’image saturée jusqu’aux limites du visible, produisant la révélation déconcertante : il ne reste rien à voir, juste des morceaux à recueillir. C’est sans doute ce qu’on appelle une vision du monde, la moins évidente mais la plus douloureusement contemporaine.”
lire article
Bouchra Khalili, THE 51st OBERHAUSEN SHORT FILM FESTIVAL CATALOGUE

“Les lucioles ont-elles disparu ? Bien sûr que non. Quelques-unes sont tout près de nous, elles nous frôlent dans l’obscurité ; d’autres sont parties au-delà de l’horizon, essayant de reformer ailleurs leur communauté, leur minorité, leur désir partagé. Ici même nous demeurent les images de Laura Waddington et les noms – dans le générique de fin – de tous ceux qu’elle aura rencontrés. On peut regarder le film à nouveau, on peut le donner à voir, le copier sur son ordinateur, en faire circuler des bribes, qui en susciteront d’autres : images-lucioles.”
lire extrait du livre
Georges Didi-Huberman, SURVIVANCE DES LUCIOLES, Les Éditions de Minuit, Paris, 2009


Prix

Grand Prix Experimental-essai-art video, Cote Court, France 2005
First Prize Videoex 2005, Festival of  Experimental Film and Video Zurich, Switzerland
Special Mention Ecumenical Jury, The 51st Oberhausen International Short Film Festival, Germany

Desist Film’sTop 50 Films of All Time


Projections

The 57th Locarno International Film Festival, Switzerland, August 2004 (World premiere)
The 33rd Montreal Festival of New Cinema and New Media, Canada, 2004
The 19th Festival International du Film de Belfort, France, 2004
The Human Rights Film Festival, Zagreb, Croatia, 2004
The 36th International Film Festival Rotterdam, The Netherlands, 2005
The 59th Edinburgh International Film Festival, Scotland, 2005
The European Parliament, Brussels, 2005
“La Semaine des realisateurs, 2005” Fespaco, Ouagadougou, Burkinao Faso, 2005
The 51st Oberhausen International Short Film Festival, Germany,  2005
The 12th New York Video Festival 2005, Film Society of Lincoln Center, New York, 2005
One World, 7th International Human Rights Documentary Film Festival, Prague, 2005
The Images Festival, 18th Edition, Toronto, Canada, 2005
“Cine y Casi Cine”, The Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid, 2005
The 6th Seoul Film Festival, South Korea, “Manifesta”, 2005
Le 28ème Festival du Court Métrage de Clermont-Ferrand, France, 2006
The 21st Mar del Plata International Film Festival, Buenos Aires, Argentina, 2006
“Vidéo et après: Laura Waddington” Musée National d’art moderne, Centre Pompidou, Paris, November 2006


Collection

Musée National d’Art Moderne, Centre Pompidou, ParisBibliothèque Nationale de France, BnF, Paris
International Film Festival Oberhausen, Film and video archive, Germany
Cité Nationale de l’Histoire de l’Immigration, Paris
The Cinematheque de Tangiers, Morocco
INVIDEO Archive A.I.A.C.E, Milan, ItalyBibliothèque de l’Université Laval, Quebec, Canada
Bibliothèque de l’Ecole supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Nimes, France
Texas A&M University Library, Texas, US


Articles & Entretiens

Border

France/ UK, 2004
27 min. Digibeta PAL, Colour, Stereo

Directed, Produced, Written, Camera, Edited Laura Waddington
Co-produced Love Streams Agnes b. Paris
Music Simon Fisher Turner
Voice Laura Waddington

Premiere

The 57th Locarno International Film Festival, Switzerland, August 2004

Synopsis

In 2002, Laura Waddington spent months in the fields around Sangatte Red Cross camp, France with Afghan and Iraqi refugees, who were trying to cross the channel tunnel to England. Filmed at night with a small video camera, the figures lit only by the distant car headlights on the motorways, Border is a personal account of the refugees’ plight and the police violence that followed the camp’s closure.

Director’s statement

In the days, if you wandered along the motorways and the wastelands, you could see the refugees everywhere: waiting on the roadside or headed to the port and the freight trains. They travelled in twos or threes or sometimes in groups of twenty or thirty. 
At night, I’d walk along the roads with them. It took two or three hours to reach the spots on the channel tunnel fence, where they’d start to cut the wire. Then came the arrests and the police bus back to the camp. A few hours later, they’d re-emerge and the perverse game of cat and mouse would start again. 
Most of the refugees were from Iraq and Afghanistan. They’d taken six or seven months to get to France, paying traffickers to smuggle them in trucks across Iran, Turkey and the Balkans. Many had nothing left but the clothes they were standing in. In their countries, they’d been teachers, university professors, medical students, and bricklayers. 
Some men died in the tunnel, others had their arms or legs cut off by the moving trains. I remember, one boy who lost his leg was out on the road, the week he was released from the hospital, trying to escape again. The months passed in limbo. I couldn’t believe we had just left them there, as if our backs were turned to them.

Laura Waddington 2002
 

Looking back on the making of “Border”

Whenever I sensed that an essential image was about to appear, I’d abruptly retreat deep into myself and impose a kind of inner stillness. During those shut off moments, I blocked out sound and the cold winds didn’t effect me, my hand providing a completely solid base for the camera to rest upon, although it would shake a lot as soon as the shot was over.

I remember the violent contrast between those moments of extreme immobility and silence, which passed, as if in a dream, everything abstract and in slow motion and the sudden bursts of frantic movement, bright light and police violence.

related passage in “Scattered Truth”


Press Quotes

“But the shock of the (Locarno film) festival is the cinema of Laura Waddington, 34 years old, English, she lived illegally in New York, then spent a few years travelling with the world’s exiles in the most dangerous places. Due to a plane phobia, she made these journeys on buses, cargo ships, hitchhiking. But aside from planes, Laura Waddington is afraid of nothing and her video camera carries all her courage and her conscience. Slung across her shoulder. Border is the trace of the months she spent in Sangatte, hidden in the fields, each night, with Afghan and Iraqi refugees. Shot secretly, the shutter wide open, almost in slow motion, the images create an aesthetic experience of fear, of terror, as if fallen out of a nightmare, peopled with out of focus figures. Border links the fields of Sangatte to that terrified part of our imagination, hidden deep within all of us.”
read article
Philippe Azoury, LIBERATION, Paris

“A thousand miles away from the television reports that vainly try to give a hypothetical identity to these displaced bodies, Laura Waddington’s desperate camera scrupulously avoids the refugees’ faces to convey an animal condition, a status of hunted beasts. Nothing predatory, no social dogma, just real empathy in this worried and audacious filming. And if the image is superb, at times pushing Border towards the boundaries of video dance and thus annoying certain guards of the temple of ethics, this is primarily due to a technical necessity, the DV camera’s shutter wide open to compensate for the lack of light, resulting in a large trembling grain, an impression of slow motion, movements like so many imprints.”
Bertrand Loutte, LES INROCKUPTIBLES, Paris

“Subtle and powerful, the work of this English filmmaker, nomadic observer of the world and devoted translator of fear and hope, as in the film Border (International Competition/ Special Mention) a tragic document about the powerless attempts of Afghan and Iraqi refugees to escape from France to England and the violent police repression that followed the closure of the camp of Sangatte.”
Elena Marcheschi, IL MANIFESTO, Italy

Border bears witness to the harsh reality of shadows, to a group of invisible people at the side of the road and is the most eloquent political and artistic metaphor ever expressed”
MAR DEL PLATA FILM FESTIVAL CATALOGUE, Argentina

“Juxtaposed with eloquent images that suggest way more than what they actually show. The result is simply astonishing: an expressionist piece with a visual and sound design that wondrously exposes, in a reflexive manner, the pain and suffering of others as though it were your own”
Pablo Suárez BUENOS AIRES HERALD, Argentina

“It was in 2002: the illegality of the situation, the police lieing in wait, the race through the fields, the omnipresence of the night lit only by the danger of helicopter searchlights, all that gives her film’s images their condition of invisibility, but also, more powerfully a proximity to these men, these women and these children whose features we hardly see – whose desperate clamours we hear at a moment when faced with the police– but of who the film manages to construct, admirably, like a poem, their dignity.”
read book passage
Georges Didi-Huberman, DICTIONNAIRE MONDIAL DES IMAGES

“Set only in the wide open, with refugees, silhouettes in the sheltering darkness, moving in the wind and the rain, crossing landscapes, anonymous to the eye yet known by name to the narrator, Laura Waddington… There’s a heroic compassion of quasi-Kurosawa’ian dimensions to each image, a justness to each movement that in its humbleness speaks gloriously of all the growth and learning done in all those years on the road.”
read article
Olaf Möller , THE DAYS AND YEARS OF MY TRAVELS, The 51st Pesaro Film Fest Catalogue 2005

“Have the fireflies disappeared? Of course not. Some of them are very near to us — they brush against us in the night; others have gone elsewhere, beyond the horizon, trying to reform their community, their minority, their shared desire. Even here, Waddington’s images remain, as well as the names—in the closing credits—of all those people she met. We can watch the film again, we can show it, and circulate glimpses, which will spark others: firefly-images.”
read book passage
Georges Didi-Huberman, SURVIVANCE DES LUCIOLES, Les Éditions de Minuit, Paris, 2009

“The images in Border… search for a new formula of community based around sharing a common space and a gaze that would take the gaze of the other into account. These, as Sergey Eisenstein would say, “inspired images of audiovisual exaltation” emerge… from a place where politics is born, even though it is not called politics and has no representatives.”
read article
Paweł Mościcki, THE IMAGE AS COMMON GOOD: ON LAURA WADDINGTON’S BORDER, Widok, Poland, 2016

“in these prolonged shots there is the courageous will of Waddington to explore the shadowy zones of the contemporary, the territories occupied by the invisible peoples, dragging themselves into the bubble of globalization.”
read book passage
Stefania Rimini, IMMAGINAZIONI: RISCRITTURE E IBRIDAZIONI FRA TEATRO E CINEMA, Bonanno Editore, Gruppo Editoriale s.r.l. Roma


Awards

Grand Prix Experimental-essai-art video, Cote Court, France
First Prize Videoex 2005, Festival of  Experimental Film and Video Zurich, Switzerland
Special Mention Ecumenical Jury, The 51st Oberhausen International Short Film Festival, Germany

Desist Film’sTop 50 Films of All Time


Screenings

The 57th Locarno International Film Festival, Switzerland, August 2004 (World premiere)
The 33rd Montreal Festival of New Cinema and New Media, Canada, 2004
The 19th Festival International du Film de Belfort, France, 2004
The Human Rights Film Festival, Zagreb, Croatia, 2004
The 36th International Film Festival Rotterdam, The Netherlands, 2005
The 59th Edinburgh International Film Festival, Scotland, 2005
The European Parliament, Brussels, 2005
“La Semaine des realisateurs, 2005” Fespaco, Ouagadougou, Burkinao Faso, 2005
The 51st Oberhausen International Short Film Festival, Germany,  2005
The 12th New York Video Festival 2005, Film Society of Lincoln Center, New York, 2005
One World, 7th International Human Rights Documentary Film Festival, Prague, 2005
The Images Festival, 18th Edition, Toronto, Canada, 2005
“Cine y Casi Cine”, The Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid, 2005
The 6th Seoul Film Festival, South Korea, “Manifesta”, 2005
Le 28ème Festival du Court Métrage de Clermont-Ferrand, France, 2006
The 21st Mar del Plata International Film Festival, Buenos Aires, Argentina, 2006
“Vidéo et après: Laura Waddington” Musée National d’art moderne, Centre Pompidou, Paris, November 2006


Collection

Musée National d’Art Moderne, Centre Pompidou, Paris
Bibliothèque Nationale de France, BnF, Paris
International Film Festival Oberhausen, Film and video archive, Germany
Cité Nationale de l’Histoire de l’Immigration, Paris
The Cinematheque de Tangiers, Morocco
INVIDEO Archive A.I.A.C.E, Milan, Italy
Bibliothèque de l’Université Laval, Quebec, Canada
Bibliothèque de l’Ecole supérieure des Beaux-Arts, Nimes, France
Bibliotheque de l’Universite de Geneve, Switzerland
Texas A&M University Library, Texas, US


Related Texts